It’s never a dull encounter when Kerry play Galway, and the Croke Park crowd can expect another exciting match-up when the Tribesmen and the Kingdom lock horns on Sunday.

If Galway are to pull off the shock result, they’ll need to pile on the pressure from the very first whistle and not give Kerry an inch.

The Kingdom provided the one blemish on Dublin’s stellar record in the league final this year, so they will have a lot of confidence heading into this clash knowing they can beat literally anybody on their day.

Galway will be bitterly disappointed not have claimed back to back Connacht titles however, they will take great pride from the manner in which they disposed of Donegal in the last round of the qualifiers.

This game could be decided by the top class Kerry forwards such as James O’Donoghue and Paul Geaney, and former Galway footballer Joe Bergin feels this is where the game will be won or lost.

It’s an intriguing statistic that just four of Dublin’s 2011 All-Ireland final team made this year’s Leinster final team.

That’s been highlighted as a clear sign of Dublin’s silent transition from one team to another – yet the scale of change in Kerry has been even greater.

Just three of their players who competed in that one-point defeat six years ago – Anthony Maher, Kieran Donaghy and Donnchadh Walsh – started this month’s Munster final.

Hello and Welcome to the Irish Mirror Sport live blog.

I’m William Dunne and I’ll be keeping you up to date with all the action in this All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Final.

Roscommon have been a bit of a surprise package this year, but they raised many eyebrows when they dismantled a Galway challenge in this year’s Connacht Final.

The Rossies will hope that all their recent underage success will finally make an impact on the big stage however, Mayo seem to come to life once they reach Croke Park.

It will be interesting to see how much last weekend’s epic encounter with Cork – that went to extra-time – has taken out of the Westerners legs.

It’s sure to be a cracker in Croke Park so stay tuned.

KERRY: Brian Kelly; Fionn Fitzgerald, Mark Griffin, Shane Enright; Peter Crowley, Tadhg Morley, Paul Murphy; David Moran, Jack Barry; Michael Geaney, Johnny Buckley, Donnchadh Walsh; Paul Geaney, Kieran Donaghy, James O’Donoghue.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

four × one =