10:36pm: The world’s best rugby player is now confirmed as New Zealand’s best rugby player – Beauden Barrett takes the coveted Kelvin Tremain Memorial Trophy .

10:25pm: Steve Hansen and, by extension, his team, the All Blacks, have won their respective categories (team and coach) at tonight’s ASB Rugby Awards.

That is unsurprising, as they also cleaned up at last month’s World Rugby Awards.

Hansen has nailed his fifth successive New Zealand coach of the year gong as All Blacks coach.

The All Blacks, one of world sport’s most successful teams, went 13-1 for 2016 and chalked up a new tier one winning streak of 18 tests, taking their attacking game through the Rugby Championship to new heights.

An honourable mention to Chris Boyd, Steve Jackson and Scott Robertson, who were coaching finalists.

The All Blacks were always going to win the nod, but it was strange how the championship-winning Counties Manukau Heat women did not make the cut for the team of the year finalists.

10:08pm: Selica Winiata has headed off some strong competition from Fiao’o Fa’amausili and Kendra Cocksedge to win her first women’s player of the year award.

The 30-year-old Black Ferns fullback scored nine tries in just five outings for the national side to underline her worth ahead of next year’s Women’s Rugby World Cup, not to mention nine tries for the Manawatu Cyclones in the Farah Palmer Cup. She shed her shoes for the interview, obviously more at ease in boots.